- Can you dribble after catching your own airball?
- Why isn’t a eurostep a travel?
- Can you travel on a free throw?
- Can you stop dribbling and start again?
- Can you step back without dribbling?
- Is falling with the ball a travel?
- Is dribbling the ball high a carry?
- Is Self Alley Oop legal?
- Can you catch the ball and take two steps?
- Can you jump while dribbling?
- Is sliding on the floor a travel?
- What is considered a travel?
- Can you catch your own airball?
- How many seconds can you hold the ball without dribbling moving passing or shooting?
Can you dribble after catching your own airball?
“You can’t rebound your own airball!” …
It doesn’t matter whether your shot hits the rim, the backboard, or just air molecules — as long as its an intentional shot, you can be the first person to touch it on a rebound..
Why isn’t a eurostep a travel?
They then explained why it was, in fact, a legal play and the officials made the correct call by not considering it traveling: This is NOT a travel, it is a legal move. Watch closely: Harden picks up the ball with his right foot still on the ground. This doesn’t count as a step.
Can you travel on a free throw?
The free throw shooter may not step over the plane of the free throw line until the ball touches the basket ring, backboard or the free throw ends.
Can you stop dribbling and start again?
A player may not dribble a second time after he has voluntarily ended his first dribble. A player who is dribbling may not put any part of his hand under the ball and (1) carry it from one point to another or (2) bring it to a pause and then continue to dribble again.
Can you step back without dribbling?
b. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing must release the ball to start his dribble before his second step.
Is falling with the ball a travel?
When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his or her feet while holding the ball, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee while holding he ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves.
Is dribbling the ball high a carry?
You can dribble as high as you want to dribble as long as your hand stays on top of the basketball. If your hand ends up on the bottom of the basketball it is a carry and the opposing team is awarded the basketball. “Palming” the ball is illegal…but no ref will call it.
Is Self Alley Oop legal?
It is legal to throw the ball off the backboard as a pass to yourself. The only time it is illegal is when attempting a free throw.
Can you catch the ball and take two steps?
A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball. … In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either returns to the floor.
Can you jump while dribbling?
Can you jump than dribble in basketball? No, You can not jump, then dribble. Once you lift your pivot foot off the ground, you must either shoot or pass the ball. Usually, this happens because you are going up to shoot the ball and realize that you are about to get your shot blocked so you decide to dribble.
Is sliding on the floor a travel?
It is legal when a player falls and slides on the floor while holding the ball or, while lying or sitting on the floor, gains control of the ball. It is a violation if the player then rolls or attempts to stand up while holding the ball.
What is considered a travel?
A travel occurs when the player lifts the pivot foot and then returns it to the floor before releasing the ball on a pass or a shot. For instance, if a player receives a pass and jumps with both feet to attempt a shot and returns to floor without shooting, it is considered a travel.
Can you catch your own airball?
Catching your own airball is allowed if it was a legitimate shot unless you’re playing your pickup game according to NBA rules, which makes you a douchebag. The top and side of the backboard is not out of bounds, only the back-facing plane of the backboard is. Step-throughs are not traveling.
How many seconds can you hold the ball without dribbling moving passing or shooting?
five secondsOn an inbounds play, the passer must pass the basketball within five seconds or it will be awarded to the defense. If an offensive player is closely guarded, he cannot hold the ball for more than five seconds without dribbling, passing or shooting it.