- Can you shoot the ball over the backboard?
- Can you catch your own airball?
- What is it called when you walk without dribbling the ball?
- How many seconds can you hold the ball without dribbling moving passing or shooting?
- Can you score from Inbound?
- Can you dribble after catching your own airball?
- Can you pump fake on a free throw?
- What are the 5 main rules in basketball?
- Can you move while inbounding the ball?
- How many seconds do you have to inbound the ball basketball?
- Is Self Alley Oop legal?
- Why isn’t a eurostep a travel?
- Can you jump at the free throw line?
- Is it an air ball if it hits the backboard?
- Is dribbling the ball high a carry?
Can you shoot the ball over the backboard?
International Basketball Federation (FIBA) A player can plant his feet behind the basket without driving to the hoop and legally deliver a shot that passes straight over the backboard.
It’s only disallowed if the ball touches the basket support, or if the player steps on the baseline..
Can you catch your own airball?
Catching your own airball is allowed if it was a legitimate shot unless you’re playing your pickup game according to NBA rules, which makes you a douchebag. The top and side of the backboard is not out of bounds, only the back-facing plane of the backboard is. Step-throughs are not traveling.
What is it called when you walk without dribbling the ball?
In basketball, traveling is a violation of the rules that occurs when a player holding the ball moves one or both their feet illegally. … When a player has taken more than 3 steps without the ball being dribbled, a traveling violation is called.
How many seconds can you hold the ball without dribbling moving passing or shooting?
five secondsOn an inbounds play, the passer must pass the basketball within five seconds or it will be awarded to the defense. If an offensive player is closely guarded, he cannot hold the ball for more than five seconds without dribbling, passing or shooting it.
Can you score from Inbound?
No, but it IS legal to throw an alley-oop pass from out of bounds. By rule, when there are less than 0.3 seconds left on the shot clock, there is not enough time inbound and then shoot the ball. The only way to make a basket with less than 0.3 seconds left is to throw an alley-oop.
Can you dribble after catching your own airball?
1. “You can’t rebound your own airball!” … It doesn’t matter whether your shot hits the rim, the backboard, or just air molecules — as long as its an intentional shot, you can be the first person to touch it on a rebound.
Can you pump fake on a free throw?
The free throw shooter shall not purposely fake a free throw attempt. … If the free throw attempt is to remain in play, the opposing team shall inbound on either sideline at the free throw line extended.
What are the 5 main rules in basketball?
Original rulesThe ball may be thrown in any direction with one or both hands.The ball may be batted in any direction with one or both hands.A player cannot run with the ball. … The ball must be held in or between the hands; the arms or body must not be used for holding it.More items…
Can you move while inbounding the ball?
An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot, it is a violation, not traveling.
How many seconds do you have to inbound the ball basketball?
five secondsUnder all basketball rule sets, a team attempting to throw a ball in-bounds has a total of five seconds to release the ball towards the court. The five second clock starts when the team throwing it in has possession of the ball (usually bounced or handed to a player while out of bounds by the official).
Is Self Alley Oop legal?
It is legal to throw the ball off the backboard as a pass to yourself. The only time it is illegal is when attempting a free throw.
Why isn’t a eurostep a travel?
They then explained why it was, in fact, a legal play and the officials made the correct call by not considering it traveling: This is NOT a travel, it is a legal move. Watch closely: Harden picks up the ball with his right foot still on the ground. This doesn’t count as a step.
Can you jump at the free throw line?
In addition, the shooter must release the ball within five seconds (ten seconds in the United States) and must not step on or over the free throw line until the ball touches the hoop. Players are, however, permitted to jump while attempting the free throw, provided they do not leave the designated area at any point.
Is it an air ball if it hits the backboard?
No, anytime the ball hits any part of the backboard that is not considered an air ball. An air ball is a shot that misses everything including the backboard.
Is dribbling the ball high a carry?
You can dribble as high as you want to dribble as long as your hand stays on top of the basketball. If your hand ends up on the bottom of the basketball it is a carry and the opposing team is awarded the basketball. “Palming” the ball is illegal…but no ref will call it.